Reston-Dulles Section



The Section was founded in September 1973 as the Reston Section by eleven courageous women from the Reston, Herndon, Sterling, and Vienna areas. With a goal of service to the community, the Reston-Dulles Section sponsors career workshops, assists families in distress, distributes toys to the needy and began the tradition of giving scholarships to young people. Arnette Williams served as the first chair. 

  • Arnette Williams*
  • Stacia Allen*
  • Sharon Bell
  • Lillian Blackwell*
  • Mona Head*
  • Cathy Hudgins
  • Kathy Lamkin
  • Delores Wilkins*
  • Dr. Janice Winters
  • Thelma Maes
  • Jay Grant
  • Irene Jones

The Reston-Dulles Section honors these great women who, like our founder Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune, had the vision and commitment to bring social change through community service. 

In that same tradition, the Reston-Dulles Section continues to provide support to deserving young people from area high schools, provide Thanksgiving baskets to families in need, and support the Embry Rucker shelter and other community programs. Our Membership also devotes time, talent, and funds to voter registration, tutoring, area high school education and empowerment programs, breast cancer research and national NCNW initiatives. The Reston-Dulles Section will continue to address the challenges faced by minority women and their families. 

We invite you to become an active member of our group. Your participation will allow us to continue our current efforts and to take on other projects.